Required Romance Reading: “The Unidentified Redhead”

Image

Tiffanie:
For February we chose a romance novel, because of the Valentine’s Day thing. So we searched for a romance novel with a heroine that wasn’t completely innocent (*cough 50 Shades cough*) and had a sense of humor that was similar to ours: meaning sarcasm. Through Goodreads and Amazon we came across Clayton’s novel “The Unidentified Redhead”, although after reading it the title should actually be called: “The Identified Redhead, the book which you’ll love for 50 pages until it turns to sh*t. Pardon my Old English”.

I do have to say it was fun for me to read something that was at a relatively easier level, especially compared to our recent picks. Plus, the first 50 or so pages of the novel are pretty humorous. The sexual innuendos between our heroine Grace Sheridan and Jack Something (his name is eluding me right now, and I’m too lazy to look up his name), plus the fabulousness of friends Holly and Nick really brought the story to life; which happens to take place in a generally superficial town: LA. But seriously, you’ll love the wittiness and playful attitude of Grace especially when we so often think of women in romance novels as being the standard damsel in distress.

Nonetheless, the story soon becomes very old: there is little character development, but a lot of sex and I would have appreciated for the romance to occur beyond, like, two weeks. I mean Disney has already laughed at themselves for their heroines somehow falling in love and getting married in a day (see Frozen), so why does a modern romance have such a short time period? Plus when it’s all sex all the time, when the freak do they have time to develop themselves. By the way, if you skip all of the sex chapters you won’t really be missing anything.

Adding onto my frustration is the fact that I had no clue that this book was also part of a series. Seriously, I would have loved to know that I wouldn’t actually be able to get a conclusion without buying the four or five other books. Perhaps this is why I believe that little story and character development occurs, because Clayton is waiting to extend it over however many books her contract states, but I think this is dumb because I will not read 400 pages of just sex scenes to see more emotions from the main character aside from her multiple orgasms. If you’re saying I’m getting too emotional, maybe. As I am drafting this, I just watched four of the Oscar nominated Best Pictures, which has left me in emotional turmoil, but I think I’m still levelheaded on how badly this story has sucked after all the great dialogue between the main characters. If I beat it into your head, I’m glad you get the picture. Here’s hoping you’re reading something as entertaining.

Miranda:
Hello everyone! My review isn’t going to be nearly as infuriating as Tiffanie’s sounded, but I do have similar frustrations. Brief summary before we start: Alice Clayton’s novel, “The Unidentified Redhead” tells the story of Grace Sheridan trying to re-enter the acting world after leaving it nearly ten years ago (this means that she’s in her low thirties). Grace decides to stay with her friend Holly, a very successful acting agent, who tries help Grace get back on her feet (what a good friend!). Holly decides to throw a small party with all her clients and friends at her house (in hopes of letting Grace mingle around), and this is where we meet Jack Hamilton – an up and coming young British actor who is apparently super smoking hot (somebody get the fire extinguisher! Ha! I’m hilarious). Grace and Jack meet and that’s when the sexual frustration/sexual storm happens.

Now that we have that out of the way… The book wasn’t so bad for me. Yes, there was very little character development. Yes, the time only stretched out for maybe two weeks. And yes, nearly everything was sex (depending on how you define sex). Also, I’ve only really read maybe three romance novels ever, so I’m not a complete expert on how well they are supposed to be written, although the three that I have read were more entertaining than this one. Here’s the thing, if you’re looking for a really, laugh out loud, type of book – maybe something super light where you don’t really have to pay attention, with a protagonist who is incredibly sassy and independent, and who is older than your standard naïve 20-something year old: than read this book. I found myself laughing at some of the dialogue (both in good ways and bad/unbelievable ways), I thought it was hilarious how the sex scenes were described and how they would take up ten pages or so – I mean I get that it’s good but is it really that good and that long?

I enjoyed our main character’s sense of humor, how snarky she was and that she wasn’t naïve and super young with and older guy (it was kind of nice to see an older woman be with a younger man). Overall though, there isn’t much to say about it: the story is completely predictable, light hearted, and shouldn’t be taken seriously. I did skip a couple of chapters at the end because it got WAY too repetitive and I wasn’t that invested in the characters so I didn’t really care but overall it’s not bad (I don’t want to sound too mean because there is an author behind the book but let’s just say it wouldn’t be my first romance novel recommendation to anyone).

Anyway that’s our quicky-ish review of the book – if you’ve read it we’d love to hear from you or if you’ve read any other romance novels, let us know how you liked them and if you would recommend them to anyone.

As always, we hope you have a great day and we’ll talk to you soon
[ even sooner if you leave a comment 😉 ]

–       Miranda & Tiffanie

(P.S. We’ll be posting our March ‘required reading’ in a few days so keep an eye out for that one if you want to join in. I promise it’ll be better than this one.)

Leave a Reply

