(Somewhat) Random Reads

If you don’t know already, I’m pretty much a pop culture fiend.  I also have a slight interest in fashion (which you can get a feel for on one of Tumblr’s). So this week I thought I’d share some of the magazines I’ve been reading about some of my other interests.

 

The first is a magazine titled Garment and it was pretty much a present to myself from Amsterdam. Like New York has the Parsons School for Design, Amsterdam has AMFI (Amsterdam Fashion Institute). I was particularly drawn to this publication not only for being reasonably priced with a whole lot of content, but also because it features a “yearbook” section which highlights graduates from the program and their senior projects. Garment is an independent publication created by students from concept through publication through an AMFI program. This issue is all about the skirt and not only had glimpses of how clothing, particularly around the skirt, has been sexed (gendered? Pretty much it is labeled as masculine or feminine. Someone help me with the correct term, please) but also fun little facts about the history of the garment in the margins. During this time I was still very much in an explorative mindset in particular about the direction I wanted to take in my career. I mean I have an interest in the fashion industry that is slightly above those in my circles, but less than the experts and professionals who are actually in the industry. Garment’s yearbook section in the back showed that the program didn’t just revolve around design and the production of clothes, but also on branding and management of brands. Obviously brands like Burberry, Chanel, Prada, etc. aren’t built over night.

Image Image

It should be noted that I don’t often read fashion publications, so it is always a treat when I do. I want to read Alexa Chung’s It, but have heard some flip flop reviews. For those who are not interested in fashion I have another option.

 

Today, Velo came in the mail. And yes, I’m technically not subscribed to it, but I can’t help but take a wander through it especially when there is one Mr. Taylor Phinney on the cover. For those of who don’t know who this is (I don’t blame you if you don’t; cycling isn’t really mainstream here. And don’t get me started on Lance Armstrong, because I have feelings over that), Phinney is a US road cyclist on team BMC. If you didn’t know there are teams, don’t worry about it. Just think of cyclists like soccer players or US football players, just with tighter uniforms. But back to the topic at hand. Velo is a publication specialized on bringing content about the competitive cycling (mainly road and mountain) world. Recently, it seems they have shifted their focus to more of an online presence, which is a shame since there’s something I just don’t like about the website. Plus they don’t publish content online in conjunction with the magazine on the same day we receive it in the mail, so it makes it harder to share articles from the magazine (it took me 20 minutes just to find an image of the cover by itself—see below). So now I can’t even share the article about Phinney until some brave and lovely soul somehow links it.

Image

Velo Magazine, February 2014 cover.
Image: Google Search.

 Since there’s no link thus far, I’ll pretty much summarize. The 23-year-old Phinney was given the title “Tastemaker” in part due to his unique persona on and off the bike. See his Twitter (Ellen Degeneres follows him!) and Instagram for some proof of this. Plus he seems like a fun almost goofy type of fella, in addition to being kind hearted. Did I mention that he’s 6’5”? Ladies (and men), if you’re looking for tall and muscled (usually not like Schwarzenegger or  The Rock built) look no further than cyclists. They get to travel abroad, especially since the sport is bigger in Europe and tan lines can be super sexy. In all seriousness cycling is a sport not just dealing with physical limits but also mental pressures. If you’re looking to read more about it, Google is pretty useful.

 

I always find shorter reads as great dividers between longer novels and textbook readings. They pretty much offer mini vacations. I hope you enjoyed getting to see me in a more complete way. If not it’s all good since I enjoyed writing it, so boo hoo. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to continue to cyber stalk research some cyclists.

 

As always best wishes,

Tiffanie

Leave a Reply

