2013: Over and Out!

HAPPY NEW YEARS!!!

I might be late for most of the world but here in Washington we are still an hour shy of writing “2014” to the top right corner of our papers. Now I’m not really going to write about New Year resolutions because I usually forget them within the week I’ve made them. Nonetheless, I’m going to highlight all the exciting things that are going to happen in 2014 for me and you know, maybe when 2015 comes around I can look back on this post and go:

“You know what Miranda? You said all of this stuff was going to great and it wasn’t great…. IT WAS WONDERFUL! Or just really shitty” <- obviously I haven’t decided whether I want to start this year out being a pessimist or an optimist.

Here are a few things I’m excited to be a part of in the coming year:

#1: I’M GOING TO MOTHER TRUCKING PRAGUE!!

Look at this beauty!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.40.45 PM

I will be there – half way across the world learning all types of things in a place I’ve never been. That sounds incredible, and extremely terrifying.
Tiffanie briefly mentioned how she did a study abroad in Amsterdam over the Summer – what she didn’t tell you was that it was our original plan to go together (through different programs) but then things got expressive and issues happened where I couldn’t go *insert short montage of children about to cry for sadness effect* But I’m going now!

It’s a program though my major and it’ll be the first time I’ve been outside of the country and the first legitimate time that I’d be on my own in a completely different place – I’ll be sure to keep this blog updated of my adventures and everything through pictures and hopefully if I take a lot of video I could edit a bit of it when I come back and show that as well. 🙂

Awesomeness #2: PROBABLY WRITING A BOOK UNTIL I GRADUATE

Yep you read that write (see what I did there? That, my friend, is called a well-placed pun). For my major I have to do a sort of ‘Senior Project’ – if you ever had to do one in high school it’s very similar to that besides the fact that the college one is more fun and a lot more work – I have to write a research thesis along with whatever my project is (that should be fun). What I love about my program that my project (within reasonable means) can be literally about anything I want it to be and so since my other major is through English I really want to write a small novella (I’m thinking about 100-120 ish ages or so) in the course of 9 months.

Problems so far: I have yet to find a mentor. I don’t know what the heck I want to write about. I can’t keep putting this off because I need it to graduate.

Which means I will look like this:

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.45.03 PM

Which leads me to Epicness #3: I WILL BE A COLLEGE SENIOR

Just thinking about that, in it self, is incredibly frightening. I. AM. GOING. TO. GRADUATE. SOON. Is by far the scariest sentence you will say to yourself unless you’re going back to school right away or you already have a job in line that will take you. I can assure you that I have neither planned out at the moment so that doesn’t help a person with anxiety…

All in all I’m incredibly excited about 2014. I feel like I grew a ton as a person in 2013 (which I might write posts on in the future) and I just hope to continue that upwards trajectory in 2014.

As always, I hope you all have a great and safe New Years:

Drink! Be Merry! Make Good Choices! DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE!!!!!

See you all on the flip side,

-Miranda

2 thoughts on “2013: Over and Out!

  1. I am SOOO excited for you to go to Prague!! When will you be there? My intention is to visit this summer (July or August), so perhaps we’ll rendezvous on the other side of the world. 🙂

    • Ah man that’s really cool but I’m actually supposed to come back in early June
      I would love to hear about your experience when you come back, maybe ours will be similar 🙂
      Have you been there before?

Leave a Reply

