DO YOU KNOW WHAT TODAY IS?!?!?

I’M GOING TO TELL YOU BECAUSE I’M SO EXCITED……

  

IT’S WEDNESDAY!!!!!!

Wow that was super snarky of me, I’m slightly proud and slightly ashamed. But let’s get real – it’s Christmas and for all of you that celebrate it, you know that this time of year means putting up the tree, hanging the stockings, fire places, gifts, gaining at least 10 pounds and enjoying it, and for all you religious folks the birth of Jesus is pretty significant too.

Now when I was younger, I used to be so excited for Christmas (I mean who wasn’t?). I was one of those kids who baked cookies for Santa – the Middle Eastern in me even gave him Baklava because I thought the old man needed some variety besides chocolate chip cookies. For at least three years, I remember trying to stay up, waiting, for Santa to come down my chimney – I failed every single time I tried but that never stopped me – proud to say I was a persistent little bastard. My parents would take my brother and I to lighting festivals, we would watch ABC’s 25 days of Christmas which included “Heat-miser and Snow-miser”, “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer”, “Elf”, “The Nightmare Before Christmas” (just to name a few), and we would go out and buy an ornament every year and put them on the tree. But over the past few years, I’m not sure if it’s because I’m growing up or what, I just haven’t been in the Christmas spirit – it feels weird, I feel like I’m not feeling the way I’m supposed to.

Take this into consideration; my family and I go to Leavenworth every single year just before Christmas time (that’s where I was for the past five days or so) and usually it get’s me all festive and excited. Not this year! I found myself, at some points, wanting to leave… What is wrong with me? Does anyone else feel this way?

Was I excited for Christmas today? Yes. Did I enjoy spending time with my family? Yes. Did I love seeing them happy with what I got for them? Of course (that’s the best part), and yet I felt as if something was missing. My favorite part about Christmas is spending time with my family and really enjoying what we have, and I don’t think I was able to fully do that this year because I’m growing older. Not in the sense that because I’m losing imagination or the feeling of being a kid, but in the sense that I’ve gained more responsibilities like working around 38 hours a week, making sure I’m paying the bills and allocating money for what I really need. As a kid, when I had two weeks off for Christmas break it was literally two weeks off, now it’s juts work, work, work – I do enjoy the people I work with, nonetheless, when I come home I’m completely exhausted where I don’t want to go to a movie with my parents or go out to eat – all I want to do is take a nap. 

And I think that’s that reason as to why it’s harder to fully enjoy it when we grow older; not because we lost the Christmas spirit, but because we might not have enough time to enjoy it like we used to when we were younger. 

Anyway sorry to be a slight downer over the holidays but I had to understand where my odd feelings were coming from and writing them out usually helps me come to some acceptable conclusion. I had fun in Leavenworth and took some great pictures that I hope to put up soon but until then HAPPY HOLIDAYS or HAPPY WEDNESDAY to you all and I’ll catch up with you on Friday.

Sincerely,

-Miranda

P.S. Since I was gone for Tuesday, Tiffanie and I are planning to do another long ass post about book two of “Game of Thrones” as it is our “Required Reading” for the month…. It’s So Damn Long! Whose Idea Was This?

(Probably mine…..)

BYYYYEEEEEEEEE

Image

Leave a Reply

