Liebster Nomination (WARNING VERY LONG POST)

Liebster Badge

Hello Everyone,

So a couple of weeks ago we were nominated for the Liebster Award (see photo above). We were nominated by Andrea (Breakfast at Andrea’s) so many thanks to her for noticing AND liking our blog – WOW, two for one. Andrea was nominated by Erin who described the award like this and because we are lazy we are stealing her quote because it’s good:

I say love because “liebster” is derived from the German word lieben, which means to love. Loosely interpreted, it can also mean sweetest, kindest, nicest, or beloved. So a Liebster Award is essentially a token of appreciation passed around in the blogging community. It’s also only given out to up and coming blogs with less than 200 followers to encourage new bloggers. At least, that’s how I’m interpreting it.

Some of the rules for this award are as such:

  1. You must link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
  3. You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with fewer than 200 followers.
  4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

Here are the questions Andrea asked us to answer:

1. What’s the most memorable moment in your life so far? 

Miranda: This would probably have to be me getting lost in Washington DC with my friend Mariah – sounds like an interesting story huh? Well during my sophomore year of high school I went with a teacher and a couple of other students to DC before school got out. On this particular occasion our group went to the Abraham Lincoln museum and when we turned around our group was gone. We asked the security guard if he saw them and to our luck he said that he just started his shift. We ran all over that museum, up and down trying to find these people, for a good 20 minutes we were legitimately lost on the other side of the United States – it’s not like I could have just called up my parents. To put it simply I was freaking out. Now you ask, why didn’t you call them – well I didn’t have my phone with me (smart me huh?) and 20 minutes later of me freaking out I find out that Mariah actually had her phone with her AND she had our teacher’s number on it. I called him and he said that he didn’t even notice we were gone and was about to get on the tour bus to go back to our hotel in Maine – real responsible right? Well we went through security and finally found them and now it’s one of the most amusing stories I tell people

Tiffanie: I’m weird and appreciate the collective memories I’ve had. My most memorable are centered in travel. Whether it’s a road trip to Disneyland when I was 5, to travels in Australia and scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef, to doing a study abroad in Amsterdam. The crazy part is realizing I still have so much to see!

2. Who is the most inspiring person you know?

M: I would say the people (sorry I’m going to go two for one here) that most inspire me to do great are my parents – not necessarily because they’ve done amazing things but rather, that whenever I achieve some kind of feat (big or small) they are the first people I want to tell it to.

T: I can’t say that I have a singular person who has inspired me above else. I am driven and inspired by those around me to be better in all I do. These persons include my peers, teachers, friends, and family.

3. What’s your favorite season of the year?

M: I would have to say Fall because of all the cozy sweaters, scarfs, and boots – easily my favorite items of clothing. The leaves are gorgeous too and it’s that time of the year where it’s not too cold and it doesn’t get too dark yet so you get to see the sunset and sunrise at decent times with crisp air – how does that not sound magical.

T: Fall. I especially love the feeling where summer melds into fall. It’s the perfect mix of sun and cooler temperatures, giving the perfect flushed look. Plus, the fashion shows seem to be bigger in autumn.

4. What book do you think everyone must read in high school?

M: This is so hard because there are so many books that I would recommend but I’m going to be biased here and say my favorite book: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. The writing is amazing and the way that Capote sets up this black and white dichotomy in the beginning of good vs evil becomes completely muddled in the reader’s mind later on.

T: Do what you want, there’s a lot. If you want a coming of age story, one of my favorites is The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky.

5. If you had a TARDIS where or when would you go?

M: Either WoodStock in 1969 or any U2 concert when they were promoting their Joshua Tree, All That You Can’t Leave Behind, or How To Dismantle A Bomb albums because they are brilliant and my favorite band ever.

T: Today, back to bed. Tomorrow somewhere else, but probably on Earth. I feel like I still haven’t explored all of Earth yet.

6. What is your favourite video game?

M: Going old school here – Super Mario 64 on the Nintendo 64 because CHILDHOOD

T: Probably Mario Kart (Wiii, N64, DS). Always had fun times playing it with my cousins and friends on roadtrips. If I had to choose a FPS, I’d go with Halo or Gears of War (I love the chainsaw!)

7. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

M: To stop getting too distracted by Tumblr.

T: Probably the amount of laziness that’s contained in me. I love being productive, it just doesn’t happen often enough.

8. What can you not live without?

M: If we’re taking oxygen, water and food out of the equation then I can’t fathom living without my family, I don’t even want to think about it.

T: Probably my family and friends. Well that and water. And air. And FOOOOOOD. I’m a sucker for deserts. But if we are saying that all of the basic necessities are covered, I need family because I can get lonely. Even though I’m also okay with being alone, I need that balance and human interaction. I’d probably off myself if I didn’t have human interaction over an extended period of time (praying for no zombie/ vampire/ extraterrestrial attacks anytime soon). If we are talking about a material object probably my phone (as long as it has internet access).

9. What superpower would you want and would you use it for good or evil?

M: I want to be the Avatar! I’m not talking about the blue people but the TV show and if you haven’t seen that then you should stop reading this right now and go watch it and not Korra cause that one isn’t nearly as good as Avatar The Last Airbender – go watch that one.
I wouldn’t kill anybody but I don’t know if I’d go building world peace. I’d probably use it for good though because I would feel too responsible.

T: I love Storm’s from XMen. Being able to control the weather sounds like fun, except I’ll pass on the completely white hair. I’d want to be evil because it seems like villains have more fun with destruction and are generally selfish. But my nature would make me use the power for good.

10. What is your favourite family tradition?

M: Probably our (my parents and brother) annual trips to Leavenworth, WA right before Christmas every year.

T: Around the holidays I’ve always loved getting together, usually at my grandfather’s house, and all my cousins, aunts, and uncles just enjoy each other’s company. When I was little it was also exciting opening presents collectively. Plus my grandfather always gave us money. All of our eyes would light up seeing those white envelopes.

 Blogs we nominate:

Mandaray.wordpress.com

Readingoncloud9.wordpress.com

Redrosestyle.wordpress.com

Kristyvdveer.wordpress.com

Anisamw.wordpress.com

Thisisthehousethatdoubtbuilt.wordpress.com

Jellysideupblog.wordpress.com

fushilou.wordpress.com

chelseaolver.wordpress.com

Hanatelige.wordpress.com

Here are your questions, please answer them. We want to know.

  1. Who is your favorite author. Or who you most enjoy reading?
  2. What book do you think everyone must read in high school?
  3. Favorite musical artists. (Or top 3 if you must)
  4. Favorite sweet/candy. WHY?
  5. Favorite meme/ gif. Be sure to include the image.
  6. Would you rather be 18 years old for the rest of your life, or 30 years old?
  7. Place you most want to travel to.
  8. What is the most dangerous situation you’ve been in?
  9. Favorite website?
  10. What’s on the top of your to-do list?

 

Thanks for sticking along if you’re reading this far, we appreciate the nomination and YOU (the reader).

Best Wishes,

Miranda and Tiffanie

BYYYEEEEE

One thought on “Liebster Nomination (WARNING VERY LONG POST)

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award Nominations | The Leather Library

Leave a Reply

