The Literature that is Tyler Oakley’s Twitter Profile

Okay, you got me. Tuesday is supposed to be book related. So I’m just going to bend the rules a little. Okay, a lot. But in my defense literature and books are related. And literature is defined in many ways. I’ve provided screen shots below to provide evidence. Exhibit 1. Definition from Collins English Dictionary: “the body of written work of a particular culture or people: Scandinavian literature”. Exhibit 2. An encyclopedia’s definition: “a body of written works…. Literature may be classified according to a variety of systems, including language, national origin, historical period, genre, and subject matter”.

Image

So if Tyler Oakley’s Twitter Profile was actually published in a physical form (with, gasp, a hardbound cover), I’d venture to say that it would be a modern classic. His profile meets all the requirements of literature. As it captures a historical period (now) and subject matter (varied, but I would say One Direction and pop culture are among the major themes).

If I were to review it fully, I would say that it is not only entertaining, especially in a unique format that each phrase is thoughtfully put in 140 characters or less. It is a format that rings true to the youth. It is a great curation of everything that is Tyler Oakley. His musings, photos and videos from other sites such as Vine, Instagram, and Tumblr, add another dimension for him to interact with his fans. What makes it so entertaining is the realness of it. Of him. You want to be a part of his life, living through him in a sense; through every professional fan girl moment. In addition, while there are phrases that may add to the stereotypical “gay man”, it reminds us that at the root of it people are people. Each one of us is unique.  While race, sexual orientation, age, sex, etc. may be a part of us, it should not define us. I believe that it is the collective of our experiences that shape us and the way we think. I think Mr. Oakley’s (I know I’m getting fancy here) twit-lit, as I’m coining it, is one of the best examples of showing how his experiences have shaped his thoughts and personality. All with the added bonus of being humorous; this helps to connect with his target audience. His twit-lit is the best kind that gives an individual feel, while also allowing the reader to asses themselves and draw connections to the world beyond the digital one.

In the event, that Mr. Oakley is actually reading this, I just want to say thank you for an entertaining journey and I’m looking forward to the coming years and seeing you grow as content curator and person. Thank you for giving me and countless others that dreams can come true. You’re living proof of it. To all the haters who say that we don’t have a literary gem, in the words of Mr. Oakley, “You do you, I’ll do me”.

As Always Best Wishes,

Tiffanie 

Leave a Reply

